A little sleepy   Leave a comment

I have been getting very little sleep this past week probably on average about 4-5 hours a night and it is starting to catch up with me.  I feel like my judgment is a bit clouded at times but overall I keep chugging along knowing sleep will come.  The main reason I have been getting such little sleep is that my dear sweet daughter is cutting her top 2, two year molars.  She has been up at night just uncomfortable, needing a little loving, and only wanting her Mama.  After being awake for sometime during the night she has been rising early around 5 ish, again only wanting her Mama.  Both my kids get up super early when they are cutting teeth but it usually only lasts about a week so I think we are past the worst of it.  The second reason I am getting so little sleep is I have a lot on my mind and when that happens I churn things over when it is quiet and everyone else is sleeping.  This processing too shall pass it just so happens these two events happened during the same week.

Today we decided to take our 2 and 3 year old out for a bike ride which we do on a regular basis although today was a much longer ride than we have done with them about 21 miles round trip.  On the second half of the trip my daughter fell asleep in the bike trailer.  She was strapped in sitting up and her head was bouncing around, we were hitting bumps, cars were driving by us and every time I turned around she was passed out.  I thought in my slightly sleepy daze of the day I wish I could sleep like that.

I think one reason I don’t sleep like my toddler is honestly because I have responsibilities that often weigh heavy on me.  As I watched my daughter sleep over every bump and through every noise I was reminded that I have to choose how I will respond to my life.  I may have responsibilities and hard things in life but I am the master of my emotions and my choices.  I get to make the best of every day I have been given.  I get to hold things tightly or let them go and trust what is to be will be.  I need to breath and I need to sleep a heavy deep sleep because deep down I am at peace with life.

Posted August 29, 2011 by shelvaleep in Life Lessons, Parenting

Leave a Reply

