A gift to walk   Leave a comment

I was thinking today as I sat on my porch on a warm summer afternoon how blessed I am to be able to walk for fun or for exercise.  You see on hot days like today I don’t often go for long walks in the blazing sun because it is miserable and uncomfortable.  I am privileged because I can choose when and if I want to walk.  For so many in our country and around the world walking is not a gift, a pass time, or a form of exercise rather it is a necessity a matter of survival.

I have the opportunity to choose to walk somewhere or not.  I will probably never know what it feels like to have no choice but rather to just have to walk.  Walk for bread, walk for work, walk miles for water, walk carrying a sick child, walk when I am sick, walk when the sun is blazing, walk when the winter wind is freezing, walk for the smallest amount of food, walk for the smallest opportunity, walk a child to school, to force my child to walk in savage conditions for school, for warmth, for freedom.  I will probably never know what it feels like to walk all day to stand in line and not receive anything, to walk to appointment after appointment to be told no you don’t qualify, no, no, no, no, sorry, no, or worse yet walk back tomorrow.

I was reminded to day that I am privileged by just having a choice whether  I want to walk or not.

Privileged

Choices

Not walking because I have to but because I enjoy it, I need to exercise, or I want to see the flowers in the spring.

Walking to survive is a different kind of walking and so many people in the world walk to survive.

It is a gift to walk for  joy and many in our world do not know such joy and those of us who do, often take it for granted.

Posted September 1, 2011 by shelvaleep in Life Lessons

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

