Fellowship   Leave a comment

I am a very communal person and so every place we have lived I have either started a book club or joined one so I thought when we moved I should get on it.  Well it took me a better part of year to pull it together but it finally happened.  Our first real time of meeting together happened this past week and I was reminded with a profound clarity that I love to fellowship with great women.

The book club is all women and we read an okay book but really the night was so much more about being in the presence of awesome people who love to read and love to chat.  We started with a few of us having rough evenings at home with kids, spouses, work days, all kinds of things but once we were together those things melted away and we listened, we laughed, we told stories, we heard stories, we shared the struggles and the joys of being women and all that encompasses.  We heard about parents being in wars and love across language barriers.  We discussed communication across generations and cultures within the same family system.  We were all valued for our ideas, thoughts, and life experiences.

When they all left my house after good wine and good fellowship I was struck with how full I felt almost as if I had eaten a turkey dinner, I felt satisfied and a part of me that had been underfed ate well.  I am so grateful for the opportunity to get to know these 7 other women better and I truly believe out of our monthly fellowship I will be nurturing my mind, body, and soul.  I grew in the fellowship of these women and I am thankful.

Posted November 7, 2011 by shelvaleep in Life Lessons, Relationships

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

